History

The Aliso Beach Park has played an interesting role in the historical development of Orange County. Aliso Creek, its surrounding salt marshes, and the overlooking coastal mountains were all once formidable barriers to travel. This area acted as a boundary between the two major Indian tribes. To the south the Juaneno's made their home while to the north the Gabrieleno tribes were found.

Transportation across this area was made easier when a Mr. Thurston, one of Laguna's early pioneers, created the Aliso Canyon Wagon Trail and the Old Coast Wagon Trail. Along these roads came many camping enthusiasts from inland Orange and Riverside Counties. Aliso Beach became a popular stopping place. The County of Orange has owned portions of Aliso Beach since 1949. Parking facilities, restrooms and lifeguard services were soon installed. In the early 1970's a unique, diamond shaped 600 foot fishing pier was constructed at a cost of $670,000. The Pier was removed due to storm damage in 1998.

Camel Point Beach (south of Aliso) has been a public beach maintained by the County of Orange since 1924. Public beach access to other County maintained beaches are West St. access, Thousand Steps, Table Rock & Laguna Royale.